I belong to another time…

When I look at the world I see chaos, pain, anger, sadness, loneliness, eroding family values, eroding moral values, lack of value for human life even at the embryonic stage. I hurt, I cry, I feel helpless, who can I help? Who can I reach out too? How can I make a change? People don’t want to listen to what is happening to others, we live our lives based on material happiness that we no longer see the destruction our desires are having on rest of the world. I am just as guilty and selective about what I want to see or acknowledge. Just like an ostrich I find myself burying my head in the sand at others suffering.

It used to be cool to be a good girl and remain a virgin, now it is laughed at and seen as uncool. It was frowned upon having STD’s now you find video’s on you tube people bragging about what they have caught. We now are of a society where inflicting pain upon ourselves is rampant and a part of our culture, smoking, drinking and eating foods that actually poison us. We do all of this knowingly and willingly often overspending in order to support our habits. Surely in another era, that would make us mad?

Our society is in a decline and i’m not surprised when every TV drama you watch is about having ruthless characters and being manipulative about achieving what they want, that is what we are being taught. Listen to the music these days it’s all about giving into lustful desires and women being b***hes. Excuse me but who the hell do you think you are Mr artist referring to my kind as b****hes? And what makes it worse it singers like Beyonce actually release a teaser track saying ‘Bow down b***hes’ I mean really is that the kind of people we are looking up to? That is who we aspire to be. How sad.

Gone are the days where heros who were brave existed…now we turn the blind eye to save our skin…all the while we pretend that we do not see the crime being committed in front of our eyes. Weak, is what we have become. How people of old would look upon us in disgust, if they could but see.

I’m ashamed at my lack of action when I see suffering, as long as I can buy my cheap clothes, who cares who makes them right?

Being a mother used to be the best part of a woman’s life, giving, nurturing and teaching.  It made us stronger, gave us patience and foresight in to human emotions. But now it is frowned upon if you give up your careers to nurture your own child, instead a mother is expected to leave the child in another’s care to return to work to feel ‘more like myself’. What will become of the generation of children that are growing up in care whilst living with their own parents?

Old age once meant wisdom…those wrinkles and grey hairs had stories to tell and the young would listen in awe…now those wrinkles and grey hairs are looked upon as a burden, we don’t have time for their stories anymore we are to busy for them, so we put them into care where they live out their final days away from everything and everyone they loved. We tell them when to shower and eat.  The years of care they put into their children, the sacrifice they made and we cannot even disrupt maybe ten years of our lives to accommodate them, when they took care of us for much longer than that?

We live in a society where the undead are loved like Edward Cullen or Damon Salvatore…are they the kind of guys we really want to be with? Fiction is fast turning into reality, the lines are blurry.

We give rights to those, who hurt our children in unthinkable ways – when in days of old they would have been eradicated from society and now we protect them? I’m left dumbfounded.

Who makes these rules and why do we follow?

Selfish is what we are. I don’t want to live in this time, I prefer the old fashion values, I don’t belong here among the noise of me, me, me.  Even countries that were at war during the ancient times had more respect for the fallen enemy than what we have today.

The world of the past if where my soul belongs I was born in the wrong era…I don’t belong here.

About lsengul

I am a stay at home mum to a set of twin girls and a lovely little boy. I am currently looking to promote my first romance, sci-fi/fantasy novel The Danfians Prophecy and my short story The Chronicles of Natasha Khan. I am also working on the sequel to The Danfians Prophecy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

