A response to Cherie Blair, ‘Stay at home mums’ lack ambition’.

At first, when I read Cherie Blair’s statement, I became really angry and a few expletives slipped from my mouth.  But then I started thinking, perhaps for Cherie Blair it suited her to have a career along side raising her children via nannies etc…however, since she decided not to be a stay at home how on earth can she comment that a stay at home mum lacks ambition?

Many women that I know of have returned to work and the reason when I question them is because they want their own lives, away from being a mother, it has nothing to do with ambition. I’m not criticising women who do return to work after having a baby. But neither should they criticise us for wanting to stay at home with our babies and to nurture them and educate them.  I had plans to return to work as an Account Director for an advertising agency, but the company was liquidated.  I had applied for many positions but nothing was as flexible as I would have liked or cost-effective. In the end circumstances and financial burden forced me to stay at home.  And I have to say that I’m really glad I did.  I have such a great time with my 3-year-old twins.  I have taught them to walk, talk and to read.  I have taught them to eat and understand that food is great for them and most importantly I have taught them to love and laugh.

As afar as ambition, I started to write my novel when the girls were 9 months old. And actually hope to become a published author by the end of this year, how is that for ambition Cherie? I also intend to gain a teachers qualification, whilst my girls go to school, is that good enough for you Cherie?

One thing I will add, I think mothers who do go back to work, not for necessity, do miss out on so much with their children and this lesson will only be learnt once their children are older.  Time is one thing that never comes back, make the most of the time you have with your child, they are not young for long.

About lsengul

I am a stay at home mum to a set of twin girls and a lovely little boy. I am currently looking to promote my first romance, sci-fi/fantasy novel The Danfians Prophecy and my short story The Chronicles of Natasha Khan. I am also working on the sequel to The Danfians Prophecy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

