Flashback within A Flashback

Can it work, a flashback within a flashback?  I have been advised not to write like this, however I have read many published novels that have been written in a similar style.  Most of these author’s are actually British, including Moi, so could this be a British thing?  I suspect that it is as well as telling the story from different character perspective.  So many things to consider and not much time to give at the moment.  This is very saddening and I suspect the reason why, many authors do not publish because of the time and energy that is required to re-look at their own work.  Gosh I still cannot believe I wrote a 74,000 word novel whilst I had 9 month old twins (so she says as an after thought 😉 )  Anyway back to my point can a flashback work within a flashback?

About lsengul

I am a stay at home mum to a set of twin girls and a lovely little boy. I am currently looking to promote my first romance, sci-fi/fantasy novel The Danfians Prophecy and my short story The Chronicles of Natasha Khan. I am also working on the sequel to The Danfians Prophecy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Flashback within A Flashback

  1. Scriptpunk says:

    Hey Lubna

    Yes it can. But you have to know where and when to use it.

    My recommendation for any non linear work is to read Linda Aronson’s 21st Century Screenplay. Although script focused, it does give information about where and how flashback can be used in narrative structure.

    Linda’s point – which I totally agree with – is that audiences these days WANT to be tested when reading/watching. They want you as an author get in front of them and lead the story. If flashback/flashforward/ non linear does then then fine.

    Your friend

    Gail H

  2. Hi, I thought Gail’s advice was great! Congrats on your book! that is a great accomplishment!

  3. lsengul says:

    Thank you Patricia, I’m near the end of it now, so excited and nervous!

Leave a Reply

